How to combat Head Lice with Young Living Essential Oils

Head Lice

Well it seems that Head Lice is making an appearance in my son’s school. We have actually received a notice from the school a number of times this year. I thankfully have not had to deal with it and I hope I never do.

But just in case here is some information that I found online about Young Living Oils and Head Lice. I know for me I have an Essential Oil Desk Reference, so I didn’t need to look online.  It just makes it easier to share it with everyone else. You can also find this information in the Essential Oil Desk Reference if you own one.

I ONLY recommend these remedies with Young Living Essential Oils, They are 100% therapeutic grade with NO additives, many other oils have additives in them.

 

Did you know that studies have shown that therapeutic gradeessential oils effectively kill lice (pediculosis) and their eggs (nits)?

Yes, there have been many studies conducted documenting the effectiveness of essential oils against head lice. At least seven essential oils have been documented to prevent and combat head lice including Tea Tree and Thyme oils! What are the Head Lice Symptoms?

The biggest symptom is head itching! But you may also see lice bites on the back of the neck or on the forehead. And regrettable by the time an individual really feels the itch, then they probably already have a good lice infestation in the works!

Adult head lice can live for about four weeks in the head and about 48 hours if they are in the open air without food (host). The females lay up to ten eggs per day and they hatch in seven to ten days; so one can see that the population can explode quite quickly!

What Essential Oils do I use as a Head Lice Home Remedy?

These oils work the best for natural lice remedies:

  • Tea Tree of Melaleuca alternifolia
  • Lavender Essential Oil
  • Eucalyptus globulus
  • Geranium Essential Oil
  • Pine Essential Oil
  • Thyme Essential Oil
  • Lemon Essential Oil
  • Rosemary Essential Oil

Apply to the feet to disperse throughout the body. And, dilute 50:50 and apply one teaspoon to the scalp up to three times per day. Cover the head with a disposable shower cap and leave the mixture on for at least 30 minutes. Once the time has elapsed, then one can shampoo and rinse the hair and scalp well.

A home remedy head lice recipe suggested in the book Desk Reference for Essential Oils is presented below:

4 Drops of Thyme Essential Oil

2 Drops of Lavender Essential Oil

2 Drops of Geranium Essential Oil

Use as instructed above.

Also, for a natural head lice rinse, take one cup of Thieves Fresh Essence Mouthwashand massage into the hair and scalp in the shower. Leave on for ten minutes and then rinse out!

Lice

About Amanda Montgomery

Well a little about me.. I have a wonderful family, with a beautiful little girl who is 1 and a charming son who is 6. Both have helped fill my heart with joy. They have helped show me how time passes so quickly. So I try to live a healthy life. I have been using Young Living Essential Oils since 2004. Within the last year I've dedicated my self to improving my health using these oils. My husband and children have both joined me in this journey. My kids love the oils and the Ningxia Red Juice. Other than my love for my family and Young Living, I also love swimming. I grew up in the pool doing synchronized Swimming. I also love photography, I occasionally dabble in amateur photography. I mostly take pictures of my kids, nature, and my pets. I find it exciting, the different pictures you can take when you just change your angle or setting on your camera. I also love to create many different things, either behind my camera, with a paint brush, or even with a hammer, nails and wood.
This entry was posted in Lavender, Peppermint, Single Oils, Thieves, Young Living Essential Oils and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

